Mastering life’s courses for running, wine, and business school

Life experiences and interests from abroad

The Real World – Dublin August 26, 2007

Filed under: Smurfit MBA — emccan2 @ 8:48 am

Seven strangers chose to live in a house together and go to school together…sounds a little like the MTV Reality TV show, The Real World, doesn’t it?  Well, welcome to the beginning of my adventure at the living in Dublin and pursuing my MBA at the Smurfit Business School at the University College of Dublin. 

Wbb26279.jpghen the opportunity arose for international MBA students to live in a previously-run Bed in Breakfast 5 minutes from the Smurfit School, I thought no-way is that going to be me.  Not only would I be in school with these people and studying with them non-stop, but I would choose to live with them…no thanks.  Then the risk-loving, opportunity-seeking side of me took over and thought, when else would I have the opportunity to go to school in a foreign country and live with people from all over the world?  So, I said ok – sign me up.

 The Blackrock Lodge is the name of the B&B and it’s quite a cute house.  There is plenty of room to study, eat, relax, and escape if need be.  I haven’t moved in yet, but once I do, I’ll post some pictures.  Here is one of the exterior of the house.

 Who knows what will happen when we all actually move in, start the program, and try to all get along, but I think it’s going to be wonderful and something that will just continue to enhance my life experiences.

 

3 Responses to “The Real World – Dublin”

  1. Michael M Says:

    Whenever I see Smurfit I think Smurf. I’m sure that doesn’t get old around there. Good luck and hope to see some candid blogging.

  2. Mom Says:

    Wow! What a great place to live. It will be like one big family.

  3. Neil Says:

    I like the blog. I’m in the next class and will be moving from Austin, TX to Dublin pretty soon to begin looking for housing and getting everything squared away.

    I’m very curious how the housing situation worked out. Having lived there and probably gotten to see most of the other options by this point, what would you recommend I pursue for the next year? I want to be very close to campus, as I’ll be trading my car in for a bike before I head over there. I don’t really want to deal with the hassle of owning a car and am scared I’d accidentally revert to driving on the right-hand side and hit someone head on.

    Also, any other info or advice you might have for me would be greatly appreciated.


Leave a Reply

