Mastering life’s courses for running, wine, and business school

Life experiences and interests from abroad

New Mode of Transportation October 14, 2007

Filed under: Travel — emccan2 @ 7:47 am

Public transportation in Dublin has been pretty good, for the most part, except for the “ghost bus” #17.  Unfortunately for me, this is the one bus that I rely upon for most of my commuting.  I joined the Crunch Fitness Gym at the main campus, but to get there, I have to take the #17 or walk 3.5 miles to the gym.  The #17 has failed me over 5 times now for missing its expected time of arrival, so last week I got fed up and responded to an add for a used bike. 

velosarah.JPG 

 The round-trip journey to pick up the bike took almost 3 hours, but it was well worth it.  I justified the expense for the convenience of being able to get to where I want, when I want, and have no reservations about my purchase.  Now all I need to do is figure out how to work the darn thing.  Sure, I’ve ridden bikes before – the ones that sit in a gym and don’t go anywhere.  So, I have a few things to learn about gears, signaling, and the rules of the road.  My roommate Robin is more experienced than I, so I’m planning to avail of some basic lessons from him so that I don’t get myself in trouble on the road.

 

5 Responses to “New Mode of Transportation”

  1. Mom Says:

    Elizabeth,
    I just looked at your new bike. I can just see you on it with groceries in the basket. Be careful!!!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. veach4 Says:

    Elizabeth,
    Love the bike…
    “I’m going to get you…and your little dog too…he, he, he….”
    It kind of reminded me of the one in the Wizard of Oz, sans the witch and the Toto dog, natch.
    Sounds like you are having too much fun and I must fly over immediately and get you back on track!
    Love, Cathi

  3. MikeG Says:

    Killer wheels Liz. Difinately like the basket on the front. Once you decide to join the big leagues, you should check into getting a moped:
    http://www.mopedarmy.com/resources/mod/bigmike/

    49cc of raw horse power @ 25mph…shhhzzzamm.

    Hope you’re having a good time.

    Mike

  4. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

