Mastering life’s courses for running, wine, and business school

Life experiences and interests from abroad

From Pinyin to Shiraz to Pinot Noir March 7, 2008

Filed under: MBA,Travel,Wine — emccan2 @ 10:30 pm

Tomorrow marks the beginning of a whirlwind tour of China, Australia and New Zealand.  The majority of the time will be split between China and New Zealand, with the highlight of the trip being a weekend in Brisbane for Ann’s wedding.  I can’t wait to reconnect with my best girlfriends from high school, Natalie and Ann, and do some much needed catching up.   

My time in China will be concentrated in Shanghai, where I, along with 60 other Full-time and Executive MBA students will be meeting with companies and exploring the cross-cultural opportunities of doing business in China.  We have some free time scheduled in, so I hope to do some exploring also.

Being the wine adventurer that I am, I will be scoping out the wine scene of these 3 incredible locations.  I was fortunate enough to tour Australia in June and visited the Barossa and Hunter Valley.  This time, however, I will be focused on the great Pinot Noirs and Sauvignon Blancs from New Zealand’s wine regions.  But, I’m not going to hold off on my wine exploration until I head to Australia and New Zealand – I am going to try to make it to a wine bar in Shanghai to sample some pinyin (Chinese for wine) to see how Chinese “grape liquor” compares to my Californian standards. 

 I’ll be sure to keep the blog updates along my way.

 

7 Responses to “From Pinyin to Shiraz to Pinot Noir”

  1. mosse zidane Says:

    Have a good time in New Zealand.

  2. boyce Says:

    If you have a chance, try some Dragon Seal (Huailai Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon) or Grace Vineyard (most anything) in Shanghai.

    Cheers, Boyce

  3. Marge Says:

    Have a great time.
    Love
    Marge

  4. Mom Says:

    Dear Elizabeth,
    It sounds like your trip is off to a great start. We will look forward to reading more about your travels.
    Love,
    Mom

  5. MichaelM Says:

    Wow, I’m a bit envious. You’ve traveled to more places in a year than I have in a lifetime. Hope that you still have some travel in you to come visit when I’m in Prague.

  6. Mom Says:

    Elizabeth,
    So glad to read about your travels. Can’t wait to read more!!

    Love,
    Mom

  7. pinyin Says:

    Great post. Thanks


Leave a Reply

