Mastering life’s courses for running, wine, and business school

Life experiences and interests from abroad

Burren Yoga Experience June 7, 2008

Filed under: Travel,yoga — emccan2 @ 2:44 pm

Following my trip to Connemara and Galway City, I headed down to Cappaghmore for a Bikram Yoga retreat.  I haven’t practiced much Hot Room Yoga; I usually do Vinyasa Flow/Ashtanga yoga, so I wasn’t sure how I was going to be in +100 degree temps.  When the cab driver pulled up to the location, I could tell this was going to me an amazing experience.  I was greeted by the owner of Burren Yoga, David, who showed me to my room.  Right away I was enthralled with the woodwork.  There were three bunk-beds in my room, each handcrafted with these unusual wood panels that enhanced the pure and back-to-nature but also very comfortable feeling of the whole place. 

 

Friday night was very restful, but come Saturday, we had two pretty intense yoga sessions with a lovely hike in the middle of the day.  I won’t drag on about the details of the yoga, but will sum it up by saying that I don’t think I ever sweated that much in my life.  When they say hot yoga, don’t misinterpret that for ‘warm’.  It is going to be hot – really, really hot.  My warning for anyone thinking about doing Bikram yoga – don’t sit by the stove oven – it will just make it that much hotter for you.

   

In addition to the fantastic yoga and incredible vegetarian meals (don’t worry my Midwestern family – I haven’t turned vegan), the afternoon hike up Abbey Hill was a bonus to the whole weekend.  You can see from the pictures below.  It was a little difficult getting back into school mode after such a fantastic weekend retreat, but I only have one more week to go!

 

One Response to “Burren Yoga Experience”

  1. Mom and Dad Says:

    Elizabeth,
    What a great adventure. We almost felt like we were there. Good luck with the rest of school. And thanks for all the updates and pictures on your travels. They have been wonderful. We are so proud of you and all your success!!

    Love,
    Mom and Dad


Leave a comment